January riding

The question for January riding is, how far can I safely push my body against cold, wind, and poor road conditions? Will my toes and fingers be ok at 22, 25 or 30 degrees? Will I see the patch of black ice or an other large icy patch created by some form of run off in time to ride or walk around? Can I choose the right clothes, socks, gloves, and toe warmers to allow me to be more or less comfortable for the five or six hours it takes me to do 100k routes. At what point is it not worth the risk or the weight and bulk of extra gear? The discomfort, the chill that finds its way between collars and hats onto the sliver of bare neck. A hilly January ride is guaranteed to generate times when I’m too hot followed by times when I’m really cold…the clothes are never just right. The best I can do is target ‘adequate’ for the day and then see how it goes.

Reviewing the weather forecast, I had planned that I would ride outdoors yesterday because the rain was supposed to stop and the temperatures were to rise close to 50, really quite warm for us in January. However, because of the temperature difference between the cold ground and ‘warm’ air, it was foggy all day. The clouds did not clear so the air was damp, dark and chill all day. Another day on the trainer.

Today, I bundled up for twenty miles outdoors. I returned with popsicle toes but the ride was absolutely worth the effort and discomfort because several waves of snow geese in V formation passed overhead as I was climbing the first small hill.

The winter landscape is so different: stark, seemingly bleak, shades of brown and gray…more monochromatic than a black and white photo. But this backdrop allows small splashes of color and interesting bits and pieces to really make an impression. A bright red cardinal, a blue jay, a pond created by recent heavy rains, a warehoused old caboose, a long closed factory, even a street sign….

January riding feels like a gift on the days that it is possible, a gift that requires me to pay close attention to what I’m doing and to deliberately look for the beauty and life in my surroundings. And I also look forward to things greening up again in a few weeks.

This entry was posted in 2024 POSTS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment