I Crossed the Rip Van Winkle Bridge Today

Jazz coming through the window of my room at the St. Charles Hotel in Hudson, NY.  Tomorrow Laurent and I begin our five-day tour. I’m looking at the pannier I borrowed from Chris. It’s sitting on the desk looking not so big, but I know I’m going to feel its heft tomorrow once I attach it to the bike.

For today though, it’s time to relax, and maybe a little like Rip Van Winkle, dream about the fun we’re going to have.  If we’re lucky, when we return to Hudson in five days, we will feel like we’ve been away a long time, on an adventure somewhere far and away.  We will cross the bridge again on the way home and return to regular life with new memories, lighter panniers, and perhaps just the tiniest itch to discover the next adventure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Crossed the Rip Van Winkle Bridge Today

  1. Jayne Brown says:

    Happy trails! I’ll look forward to reading your adventures, and hearing more when you cross the bridge again.

Leave a Reply

